I *heart* Weaving Sticks!

Clover VH_BLOG_BANNER

weavingstickwall10

Weaving Sticks in action!

Last year I was at TNNA (an industry trade show) where I spied Clover’s Weaving Sticks for the first time. I was mesmerized by these wooden tools that looked like my beloved bamboo knitting needles, but with a hole at the bottom and held together in sets of 2-6! I hovered around the booth for a bit, but for some reason felt shy about asking to use a pair. When I got home, however I went straight to the craft store and bought a pack.

I’d been crushing on some of the woven tapestries and wall hangings I’d seen a lot of on Pinterest, but didn’t have the time to sit down and learn how to use my loom. I thought, though that the mobility of these sticks (read: throw in my bag to use while on the sidelines of a kids’ activity or in a waiting room for an appointment) paired with their ease of use would work perfectly not only to make strips that would become the background of a cool wall hanging, but also with my busy, working-mom-of-3 lifestyle. Happily, I was right, which resulted in some great, affordable, stress-free wall-decor for my home. #Winning!

weavingstickwallwhole

My DIY Wallhanging, made using Weaving Sticks. See how to make your own HERE.

During that time and since, I’ve posted photos of Weaving Stick, works-in-progress on Facebook and Instagram. It turns out I’m not the only one excited about them — with over 2,000 likes on one Facebook post alone, it’s clear that knitters, crocheters, and crafters alike are ready and willing to (stick) weave! Since the main question I was asked is, “How do you use them?”, I thought I’d give you an iPhone view (kind of like a bird’s eye view, but with a rectangular perspective) of the how-to basics. Click below and see!

Now that you know how to use Weaving Sticks, I bet you’re dying for some great projects to apply that newfound knowledge to, right? Well, lucky for you craft editor, Ashley Little has written a booklet packed with 12 projects that fit the crafty bill. Oh, and the extra lucky part is that Clover’s giving away three copies of said booklet: Super Simple Stick Weaving!

Enter to win HERE.

Grab a set of sticks and get weaving. Trust me; once you start, you won’t wanna stop.

Enjoy!

xx,
Vickie

P.S. Keep your peepers peeled for a Winter-themed, Weaving Stick wall-hanging in the premier issue of Craft.girl Magazine (Interweave) — hits newsstand this Fall!

4 thoughts on “I *heart* Weaving Sticks!

    • We highly recommend doing a project with your grandchildren maybe use two sticks to weave bracelets. This will instantly give them an end result and will introduce them to the fun of weaving!!

Share your thoughts

