French Knitter Using Yarns and Other Fibers

Okay so Monofilament has a mind of its own, but we so absolutely love the “floating” look of the beads!  We can’t get enough of this look.

This week we are going to step back and suggest using yarn, embroidery floss and crochet thread.  Yarn is, of course, one of the first fibers used with the wooden/nail spool knitters of childhood….but let’s take another look at the fibers available today.

A very simple and fun way to get familiar with the French Knitter is to just make 2 cords the length for a necklace.  Pass silver pony beads over both cords spacing them evenly.  Add a closure finding and a pendant for an impressive, but very easy creation.

Materials:

Cotton sport weight yarn Bright aqua

Acrylic sport weight yarn Navy with navy metallic

11 Sliver Pony Beads

1      Ribbon Clasp closure

1      Turquoise stone Pendant

Each cord uses the 4-peg head

Next let’s add beads!

Pre string 40 Beads onto the yarn, use the 4-peg head.  Knit five rounds without any bead on the sixth round place a bead between a peg.  Then knit five more rows and place a bead between the same peg as before.  Continue until all beads are used.

Have fun when adding beads onto embroidery floss to include evenly spaced large beads with small ones.

Tips:

  • If you want to try different threads as your cord, test them by breaking the thread with your own hands…if it breaks too easily…don’t use it.
  • Often the metallic threads will break especially from the abrasion of the beads sliding across the surface.  Take care when selecting beads and make sure they slide easily over the fiber.
  • There is a lot of stretch with most yarns.  If you are making a bracelet, make it approximately one inch smaller than your wrist measurement. Use a toggle closure.

Enjoy the next weeks French Knitter Jewelry saga……

3/15 – USING YARNS, EMBROIDERY THREADS, AND OTHER FIBERS

3/22 –  HOW-TO: COMBINE 2 DIFFERENT FIBERS INTO ONE FABULOUS LOOK

3/29 –  PLAYFUL EMBELLISHMENTS

Win this amazing gift set by posting your comments below.  Valued at $100.00

55 thoughts on “French Knitter Using Yarns and Other Fibers

  1. i had a homemade one made out of an old wooden spool and 4 nails in it. I think the idea of making a necklace with different threads and yarns is great and I am going to unearth my french knitter and try some different threads and beads to make all sorts of jewelry.

  2. I’ve looked at these soooo many times thinking I should buy one…not expensive….yet never did…I will buy one:) Too cool…

  3. I used a french knitter to make a strap for a felted bag. It turned out super cute. I made the strap longer than what I needed, felted the bag and strap, then attached the strap.

  4. I am amazed by what you can do with this tool. Would love to win this collection! Clover is coming out with some wonderful tools/notions for crafters and sewers like me. Thank you.

  5. I would love to win this collection, I love making jewelry and have begun to teach myself crocheting. I love ALOT of crafts wish I had a little boutique to put everything I and others make to put in it! That is my dream!!!!!

  6. WOW I would to win this collection!! The necklaces are beautiful and your demonstration of how to use the French Knitter is wonderful!!! I want to get one of these and start making some right away!!! Keep up the good work and thanks for showing how to use the French Knitter!

  7. Oh my! What a fun giveaway ; ) Loaded with ‘tools’ to inspire. And, the new
    French Knitter for jewelry looks AWESOME. Looking forward to trying it. Thx for the opportunity to win the prizes.

  8. I adore yarns and fibers! I collect them even when I don’t have a specific project in mind!! This would be a great way to use them in a different way!!

  9. I just joined your website. OMG! I can’t believe I never heard of this site before. It is awesome and has really good ideas and projects. The product line looks very, very intriguing. I will have to research this more. I am learning how to make jewelry. So far, I have made 5 bracelets and they have turned out really neat for a beginner. I love the princess necklace; but, it may be more advanced than I could handle.

  10. I saw this demonstrated at the Sew Expo in Puyallup, WA. HOW FUN! Thanks for offering, but then again, I love ALL CLOVER products. – Judy Brennan, Overland Park, KS

  11. Gorgeous jewelry! I wonder what it would look like with metallic threads or wire? Would love to win a tool to find out.

  12. Wow! I remember using my mother’s used wooden spools and Dad hammering in the 4 nails so I could do my “knitting” while mom sewed. Love this modern reincarnation with Clover’s French Knitter. I would love to win the tools to try it out – might just be my newest obsession!
    Thanks for hosting this contest!

  13. I would love to try this new techique to make necklaces. I am new to the craft and would love the help of this new tool. I love all the patterns that are availible. Can’t wait to try it out.

  14. I’ve made two necklaces with matching bracelets, using crochet thread. Absolutely beautiful and easy. Looking forward to expanding further with ideas and other gorgeous fibers/threads. Thanks …

  15. I can’t wait to get the new clover French knitter as soon as it comes out into the stores.
    Very exciting. New product!!
    Kathy

  16. This technique looks fun and amazingly beautiful and unique!! I’ve never tried a design like this before and I can see many possibilities!! And what an awesome package!! I would love to win it and try something new!! Oh and love your blog!!

  17. With a little patience, you can use fine beading wire on the French knitter with results that will have everyone saying “how’d you do that? ” If you want unique pieces,try the French knitter. ( or spool knitting like I called it as a kid.)

  18. This looks like so much fun. I would really like to win this knitter gift set. Thank you for the opportunity.

  19. Hiya! I just would like to give an enormous thumbs up for the great information you have here on this post.
    I will probably be coming back to your blog for extra soon.

Share your thoughts

